Sponsor uses my textual descriptions

There is one French sponsor that I have been pushing on my blog a lot for several years, because their content is compatible with my blog’s main theme. Their descriptions are usually just machine translations made with Google Translate from French to English, so they often sound quite unnatural.

Obviously, I always rewrite their translations in my own words when I post their updates on my blog. Since about two years ago or so, I noticed that when they send out their promo content, their descriptions sometimes contain my descriptions, word for word, obviously copy/pasted from my blog (they often release so-called bonus content for previously published updates, and then they want to remind their visitors about the original scene, which was published some months ago. That’s when they usually just copy/paste the descriptions from my blog).

While I feel honored that they like my descriptions so much to even use them as their own, I think it is obvious that this cannot benefit me in any way. The main reason (from the SEO point of view) why a webmaster would write his own descriptions, rather than using someone else’s, is to be unique in Google’s eyes. So, if they send out my descriptions unaltered in any way, Google will think that it was actually me who copied from them.

What do you think that I should do? Should I just politely ask them to stop using my descriptions?

1 Like

That’s a very tricky one. It’s actually their own text but translated by you. But I’m guessing the problem isn’t with the sponsor as such as they don’t use the text on their site, right? So the worry I guess is that other blogs use your text?

It will probably come down to who has the most authority and where it’s published first. Really not sure it will hurt you though, so many blogs and sites just copy and paste text from sponsors yet they are fine. Do you normally get a lot of traffic to individual blog posts? I don’t on mine.