Free / AVS sites pay back now or later?

Xstr8guy made me want to ask something else with this post:

[quote=xstr8guy;22717]Btw, when I was building AVS galleries for a living, sometimes I would reinvest as much as 100% or more in a month when I would go on a content buying spree. On average, I would guess I reinvested about 50% back then. But I never used sponsor content either.

You have to spend money to make money! ;)[/quote]

When you build a free or AVS site, would you expect that site to pay for itself within a week, a month or over years.

If you pay for creating them, I can’t see them returning the investment it cost to make them in any short time period. Or should they?

Re: Free / AVS sites pay back now or later?

I can’t see a short term return on having one built. Learn to build them your self, submit them and forget them, they will make you money over a period of time.

I was making my money back in about 30 days or less on an AEN site. That would be a site with about $200 in content. I am not sure if Jim was buying one set and making a site or building an AEN site with multiple sets and marketing it a mini paysite.

I have at least one site that I spent about $100 in content that has made over $5,000 over the past 3 years.

I didn’t worry about it. I just kept buying content. The more site I put up on my hub, the more sales and rebills I saw coming in. I’m still generating a great income from my main hub, so I’ve definitely made my content money back.

I never used sponsored content on my hubs and they actually sold better than the webmasters using sponsored content.

Michael

No this isnt about 1 site. I’m having about 100 or so created each month, its a small project im workign on and testing something. Want to get between 1000-2000 free sites in total.

Its kind of what I’m hoping to find from my Free site test / project. That over time it pays for it self rather than instantly.

Yet to be seen of course.