Embedded Blog Videos & "Piracy"

For a while now I’ve been watching the stats for a guy who’s been pretty friendly with me and has given me access to his Google Analytics reports. His business model is one that at least some of you would have problems with… He runs a blog that consists solely of embedded videos from sources like ning and xtube. He’s not uploading them or hosting them, but he is facilitating the viewing of them by using the embed codes and he’s undoubtedly sending traffic to the “problem” ning sites as well…

I’m not a content producer, so I don’t have strong feelings on the subject of piracy. I see the situation as something similar to what the record industry has faced and research there says the people who pirate the most also buy the most and a heavy-handed approach isn’t always best, so I’m generally pretty ambivalent.

What I’d like to know is how far you think an affiliate can go with an embedded video blog without 1) clearly crossing the line to illegal activity that’s likely to draw a lawsuit or 2) pissing off one’s sponsors to the point that it creates problems working with them (worst case scenario is getting dropped).

I’m a New Yorker, and NY is big on taking advantages business opportunities - especially ones involving shifts in the market place. Hell, my neighborhood is surrounded by an ethnic neighborhood which was the drug capital of NY in the '80s because the ethnic group saw drug dealing as a perfectly acceptable entrepreneurial activity. I’d like to pursue what I’ve learned from watching the blogger who’s been friendly with me - I think I can improve on his business model and made it more profitable. But I also don’t want it to go so far that I get sued or have significant relationship problems with sponsors.

So what’s likely to be “low risk”?