Do You Guys Think This Is Weird?

I’ve been trying to wrap my head around this for the last few days. As some of you know, I run a few blogs with fairly decent traffic. Actually, my blogs do quite well. So, the other day, I was approached by a site owner, who wanted to buy banner space and text links on my blogs.

That in itself is not weird, but what is weird, is that he has a new affiliate program for the sites(also new), which I was one of the 1st to join. My question is, why would you want to buy banner space, when I’m going to put reviews, updates, banners and text links on the blogs anyway, with my affiliate code?

I tried to explain this to him, but he stills wants to buy banner space. The only reason I can see, would be the obvious - banner space would cost him much less, than I could make as an affiliate. Or am I missing something here?

Maybe I am, 'coz I’m not very experienced, when it comes to selling banner space, but I’m getting approached at least once a week now, which is good, but I don’t think there’s any point, if I’m promoting the site as well.

Re: Do You Guys Think This Is Weird?

Banner space is what you charge for it. It may be less that what you make as an affiliate or more.

The most obvious reason is that he wants more control over how much coverage he gets and the placement. If your blog has high traffic there maybe branding considerations as well.

I have bought banner spots on sites that market us as well. I wanted more control over placement. (Meaning I didn’t want the webmaster to give that spot to someone else a week later etc.)

[QUOTE=Intense_Lloyd;59947]Banner space is what you charge for it. It may be less that what you make as an affiliate or more.

The most obvious reason is that he wants more control over how much coverage he gets and the placement. If your blog has high traffic there maybe branding considerations as well.