gaybucks_chip
05-05-2009, 06:57 PM
Just received this from Epoch, thought it would be good for everyone to keep an eye out for...
We have a report from a client who received an erroneous email impersonating an urgent correspondence from Epoch. The email directs the respondent to a domain that looks, at first glance, to be a legitimate Epoch URL and asks for your server's FTP information in order for Epoch to install a bug-fix for a password script. No such email was sent from Epoch. No such problem exists.
The email has grammatical, capitalization, and punctuation errors as well as mis-spelled words and diction errors. Further, it directs you to a site to submit your FTP data that is not on an Epoch server, and asks for the info without asking for login data to identify yourself. Each of these items is a red flag.
If you receive this email, do not click the link or submit your FTP information. Please forward it to support@epoch.com with your MasterCode in the subject line.
The email directs recipients to a URL which appears to be an authentic WNU address:
http://secure.wnu.com/inst/epoch/.....
The actual web address is:
http://secure.wnu.com/inst/epoch/....._secdro.ath.cx_
You must always follow all the "dots" to the last one to discover the true domain you are linking to. In this case it is ATH.CX
After receiving the report regarding the scammer"s site, Epoch contacted the hosting company and the site has been removed. However please continue to send us the email if you receive it and never log in to any site from a link within an email. Always log in and submit data by going to URL's you are familiar with.
If you ever have any question as to whether an email is actually from Epoch, please email us directly at support@epoch.com or call our 24-hour technical support phone number: 1-310-664-5700. We will be more than happy to assist you.
-- The Team at Epoch
We have a report from a client who received an erroneous email impersonating an urgent correspondence from Epoch. The email directs the respondent to a domain that looks, at first glance, to be a legitimate Epoch URL and asks for your server's FTP information in order for Epoch to install a bug-fix for a password script. No such email was sent from Epoch. No such problem exists.
The email has grammatical, capitalization, and punctuation errors as well as mis-spelled words and diction errors. Further, it directs you to a site to submit your FTP data that is not on an Epoch server, and asks for the info without asking for login data to identify yourself. Each of these items is a red flag.
If you receive this email, do not click the link or submit your FTP information. Please forward it to support@epoch.com with your MasterCode in the subject line.
The email directs recipients to a URL which appears to be an authentic WNU address:
http://secure.wnu.com/inst/epoch/.....
The actual web address is:
http://secure.wnu.com/inst/epoch/....._secdro.ath.cx_
You must always follow all the "dots" to the last one to discover the true domain you are linking to. In this case it is ATH.CX
After receiving the report regarding the scammer"s site, Epoch contacted the hosting company and the site has been removed. However please continue to send us the email if you receive it and never log in to any site from a link within an email. Always log in and submit data by going to URL's you are familiar with.
If you ever have any question as to whether an email is actually from Epoch, please email us directly at support@epoch.com or call our 24-hour technical support phone number: 1-310-664-5700. We will be more than happy to assist you.
-- The Team at Epoch