PDA

View Full Version : WARNING - fake google email!



basschick
03-25-2008, 12:37 PM
if you get an email from Google-AdWords-Noreply with a subject of Please Re-activate your account, do NOT click the link and do NOT give them your credit card info.

the link LOOKS like this:
http://adwords.google.com/select/login

but it actually takes you here:
http://adwords.google.com.fieu09.cn/select/Login/

and the domain is fieu09.cn, not google.com.

out of curiosity, i decided to go to the root domain, fieu09.cn, and see what they had there. what i got was a weird warning about a forged website and a redirect.

xstr8guy
03-25-2008, 02:32 PM
Yeah, I got it too! I actually clicked the link like a dumbass because I hadn't actually used my adwords account in some time and the credit card I was using had expired. Luckily, I noticed the funky url before I logged in.

Seth
03-25-2008, 08:25 PM
I received several too. I just happened to be logged into my AdWords account when I received the first one so I knew right away it was fake.

I receive similar fake Emails all the time alerting me that my PayPal account info needs to be updated. I used to forward these to their abuse department but it never seemed to do any good. I just delete them now.

Thanks for the warning though, they looked pretty legit at first glance.