View Full Version : Stolen Content Blog
abostonboy
03-20-2008, 07:14 PM
http://cum4porn.blogspot.com/
Maybe your content is there.
rawTOP
03-21-2008, 04:35 AM
I see them all the time... Here are ones I've reported to Google (via Webmaster Tools) for scraping my content...
http://manfill.com/
http://cocknload.com/
http://www.raw-ride.com/
The first two are by the same guy (he also runs instantmale.com). When I contacted him and told him to stop using my content without permission, he acted like he was doing me a favor. "Most webmasters are thrilled to have me use there feed because i provide thousands of visitors a month to their websites." In actuality he's provided 22 referrals from cocknload and 6 from manfill over the last year (and that's using Google's concept of a referral where the same person gets counted multiple times if they come back after the first visit). All of his sites seem to have Alexa rankings over 1,000,000...
The last one is actually pretty advanced. They're doing cloaking - so they have certain pages on their site that if you go to them in a browser redirect you to tour pages, but if you change your user agent to googlebot you see scraped content.
gumdrop
03-21-2008, 06:20 AM
Oh, and the last one the sign-up goes to:
http://www.tpgwebsite.com/
They have a 1-888 phone no.
archer
03-21-2008, 08:36 AM
:cry:
This blog is open to invited readers only
http://cum4porn.blogspot.com/ :cry:
now i can't see what u guys have seen :)
abostonboy
03-21-2008, 09:04 AM
:cry:
This blog is open to invited readers only
http://cum4porn.blogspot.com/ :cry:
now i can't see what u guys have seen :)
We sent DMCA notices. Hmmmm....
RDude
03-22-2008, 10:59 PM
So these people steal content you actually paid for and then try to re-sell it?
abostonboy
03-23-2008, 05:40 PM
RawTop,
http://cocknload.com/
This blog appears to be RSSing feeds from other blogs, including gaydemon.
abostonboy
03-23-2008, 05:43 PM
So these people steal content you actually paid for and then try to re-sell it?
You know. I am NOT 100 sure how it works.
What happens is someone uploads a full video to Rapidshare. Rapidshare has a couple options. I guess you can download on a limited basis, but if you pay a premium, then yo get faster and more downloads. So they make $$$ off stolen content.
http://rapidshare.com/premium.html
abostonboy
03-23-2008, 05:43 PM
p.s. There are about 100 RS clones.
RDude
03-23-2008, 05:59 PM
Bastards. That's low.
gaydemon
03-24-2008, 03:54 AM
He is using my gaydemon blogs and my affiliate codes.. but then mixes is some of his own.
He really is missusing RSS feed however you look at it.
RawTop,
http://cocknload.com/
This blog appears to be RSSing feeds from other blogs, including gaydemon.
gaydemon
03-24-2008, 04:12 AM
I've sent them a cease and desist letter, will see if anything happens. :grrr:
abostonboy
03-24-2008, 07:51 AM
I've sent them a cease and desist letter, will see if anything happens. :grrr:
I think GayStoryMan once had someone create a site just on hos RSS feeds. RSS is open for abuse by webmasters that know what they are doing.
Gaystoryman
03-24-2008, 10:20 AM
I think GayStoryMan once had someone create a site just on hos RSS feeds. RSS is open for abuse by webmasters that know what they are doing.
Yep there was, he claimed it was simply advertising, but I blocked his IP and the feed or whatever he was doing, couldn't access the info. Damned if I know how it worked, but he couldn't get the info anymore, though every single link was intact, just a header file that had his own ads. :bang:
gaydemon
03-24-2008, 12:06 PM
Ahh.. thats maybe a good idea. I didnt think of that. Banning the IP might be good.
The thing is, i dont mind people using bits of RSS but he actually uses all of it and puts in his own affiliate stuff here and there. Not only is he in breach of copyright of gaydemon, but he also is going against the terms for the use for the content.
Yep there was, he claimed it was simply advertising, but I blocked his IP and the feed or whatever he was doing, couldn't access the info. Damned if I know how it worked, but he couldn't get the info anymore, though every single link was intact, just a header file that had his own ads. :bang:
Gaystoryman
03-24-2008, 12:14 PM
Ahh.. thats maybe a good idea. I didnt think of that. Banning the IP might be good.
The thing is, i dont mind people using bits of RSS but he actually uses all of it and puts in his own affiliate stuff here and there. Not only is he in breach of copyright of gaydemon, but he also is going against the terms for the use for the content.
I don't either, I mean that is why there are feeds I guess, but damn, I hate the names some of these automated programs insert in place of my own... like 'penny wrote at' or 'amazing nellie wrote about' that it gets laughable. I do delete them/block them but at times it is funny.
It is also why I like to 'hide' my affiliate codes so the automated systems can't notice them, then alter them. One way to keep them intact. whistle
rawTOP
03-24-2008, 12:26 PM
http://cocknload.com/
This blog appears to be RSSing feeds from other blogs, including gaydemon.
It's one thing if you're an affiliate or you have permission to use the RSS feed, but people like that assume just because you put out a feed they can legally use it and that's not the case at all...
gaydemon_jr
03-24-2008, 01:51 PM
It's one thing if you're an affiliate or you have permission to use the RSS feed, but people like that assume just because you put out a feed they can legally use it and that's not the case at all...
If someone uses a feed for non-commerical purposes, to link back to the original content, then thats good. But if someone uses content from a feed for commerical purposes, then thats just wrong. :grrr:
abostonboy
03-24-2008, 06:08 PM
If someone uses a feed for non-commerical purposes, to link back to the original content, then thats good. But if someone uses content from a feed for commerical purposes, then thats just wrong. :grrr:
Even that can mess up Google I believe.
Maybe sites need a good TOS and state proper use of RSS. On my blogs I am seriously thinking of turning RSS off (if possible). I don't think many porn surfers have subscribed to my blogs via RSS.
rawTOP
03-24-2008, 06:49 PM
If someone uses a feed for non-commerical purposes, to link back to the original content, then thats good. But if someone uses content from a feed for commerical purposes, then thats just wrong. :grrr:
Yes and no...
In this particular case he essentially tried to claim a fair use argument saying he was only using snippets, but his snippets were paragraphs long and often were the entire post. That doesn't fall under fair use. Plus, I think fair use requires you to be commenting on the original content (say the way Joe. My. God. does in a lot of his posts).
The funny part was that he is basically trying to get search engine traffic, but he's doing it in a way that will backfire on him since Google will figure out that he's stealing content and doesn't have any original content of his own. In other words, there's almost no better way for him to tank all the organic traffic to this sites than doing what he's doing... They won't even be worth anything if he wants to sell them (if the person can figure out that they're basically black listed by the search engines)...
When you want to do syndication (say for press releases) you have to deal with duplicate content issues and the best way is to ensure that there's a link to the authoritative article on each syndicated post. He was linking to the modified URL that FeedBurner assigns which do 301 back to the original article, but I don't want Google and others to even think I have duplicate content issues. I want a site that's clean from their perspective (except that I may not be kid friendly - that comes with the territory).
Bottom line, I just don't allow people to use my feeds. When I find it happening I'm aggressive in dealing with it. The one exception is my porn blog which is chock full of affiliate links. They can copy that all day long (as long as they don't change the affiliate codes)... But no one's been that stupid... yet...
gaydemon
03-25-2008, 02:48 AM
It seems the cease and desist has worked. The gaydemon blogs are removed.. but as always with these guys you just never know if they will start it again.
Never had a reply from him though.