View Full Version : Ive noticed something strange
Calabrese
06-20-2010, 05:00 PM
I rank pretty well for some Haze Cash site keywords... unfortunately the large pirate forum pornbb does as well.
Today I noticed that pornbb was ranking very high for a particular Unglory Hole phrase which was leading to this pornbb post: http://gay.pornbb.org/viewtopic.php?t=1049056
Even though I am running an ad blocker I get an advertisement at the top right corner for Unglory Hole, they are taking part in the Haze Cash program. But just out of curiosity I right clicked on the banner to see the source and it comes up as
http://newads.media.bangbros.com/images/pornbb/gay/op300x250-6.gif
Anyone else find it odd that Bang Bros is serving up ads for Haze Cash on this site? It says pornbb/gay in the URL for fucks sake.
Other Haze adverts flying on gay pornbb:
http://newads.media.bangbros.com/images/pornbb/gay/haze1.gif
http://newads.media.bangbros.com/images/pornbb/gay/igh5.gif
http://newads.media.bangbros.com/images/pornbb/gay/op300x250-5.gif
What the fuck.
dzinerbear
06-20-2010, 05:02 PM
Bang Bros and Haze Cash are run by the same people, aren't they?
Calabrese
06-20-2010, 05:04 PM
Yes. But why are they knowingly advertising on one of the largest porn pirate boards?
gaydemon
06-21-2010, 01:04 AM
That's Greed. Why the fuck do they advertise on a well known Pirate site?? I'd love to see a comment from them but they are quite good at igorning anything that isn't of benefit to them.
pocoloco
06-21-2010, 02:13 AM
The "illegal" sites are the new big affiliates in my opinion. Tube8 had BSB and DickDorm ads allover.
The "illegal" sites are the new big affiliates in my opinion. Tube8 had BSB and DickDorm ads allover.
Aren't they shooting themselves in the foot that way?
Maybe that particular tube/torrent site won't pirate their content, but some other will be more than happy to pull their entire collection of HD videos and post them while at the same time pushing some third sponsor. It's a no-win situation for paysites in the long run.
By the way, there's plenty of Pridebucks banners in Gaytorrent.ru.
AlexManifestMan
06-21-2010, 09:26 AM
I have spoken with sponsors who are either advertising on or have affiliates that are pirates. They response was overwhelmingly "sorry, we can't do anything about what they do" or "if we cut them off, they will just promote somebody else".
Some of the bigger programs don't give a rat's ass about it. As we have seen, they are almost the most likely to come crashing down in a pretty spectacular way.
This is one of the instances where collective affiliate action might have an effect but that isn't going to happen.
RDude
06-21-2010, 10:41 AM
Those of us who have morals in this business are now the minority. Lovely.
britton
06-21-2010, 11:44 AM
I don't find this odd at all.
How would programs as large as hazecash and bangbros know where their ads are running at any given time? They would not. It would be more productive to get the affiliate ID of the ad and contact hazecash with an explanation of why that affiliate should be banned or that URL denied as a referrer.
I have affiliates for my sites and I can tell you without a doubt that I make absolutely no effort to see where they are advertising but if someone brought illegal practices to my attention, I would terminate the affiliate. There is legal precedent in the States to do just that. Like if you know your affiliate is email spamming, terminate and document it.
RDude
06-21-2010, 11:48 AM
I don't find this odd at all.
How would programs as large as hazecash and bangbros know where their ads are running at any given time? They would not. It would be more productive to get the affiliate ID of the ad and contact hazecash with an explanation of why that affiliate should be banned or that URL denied as a referrer.
I have affiliates for my sites and I can tell you without a doubt that I make absolutely no effort to see where they are advertising but if someone brought illegal practices to my attention, I would terminate the affiliate. There is legal precedent in the States to do just that. Like if you know your affiliate is email spamming, terminate and document it.
From what we can see, the images are being hosted on Bang Bros' server:
http://newads.media.bangbros.com/images/pornbb/gay/op300x250-6.gif
I think they know the ads are up on pornbb. ;)
pocoloco
06-21-2010, 01:00 PM
I don't find this odd at all.
How would programs as large as hazecash and bangbros know where their ads are running at any given time? They would not. It would be more productive to get the affiliate ID of the ad and contact hazecash with an explanation of why that affiliate should be banned or that URL denied as a referrer.
I have affiliates for my sites and I can tell you without a doubt that I make absolutely no effort to see where they are advertising but if someone brought illegal practices to my attention, I would terminate the affiliate. There is legal precedent in the States to do just that. Like if you know your affiliate is email spamming, terminate and document it.
Eh of course they know, that's obvious
britton
06-21-2010, 03:03 PM
ah, I totally didn't see the "pornbb" in the image URL.
:)
You're right, they know :)